12 August Can these really over winter?

You can feel Autumn in the air…chilly first thing and in the evening.   My burgeoning veg patch is starting to decline in it’s offerings and I’m left wondering what I’m supposed to do now!

It appears I can start planting hardy veg that will over winter to give me an early crop next Spring.   These little plants sound brilliant so I went in search of some.   Now I presumed that if you’re selling small veg plants at this time of year, then they’re either meant to grow really quick to harvest this year or be those clever little over wintering ones….so I bought some red cabbage and pointy cabbage (just love that name, because that’s exactly what it is, a pointy cabbage).

And here they are in the ground and netted to keep one particular huge black crow at bay…he’s a real character but has an insatiable appetite for my veg.  How do I know it’s always the same one?  The same way he knows it’s my allotment I guess!

new planting

 

Now there’s a downside to this; I asked my allotment chums whether I’d put the plants too close together……it’s not the distance  you’ve got to worry about, they said, those aren’t over wintering cabbages and they’ll never reach maturity this season!

I’m still learning right, so the odd mistake is forgiveable, especially when I’m goaded into buying things that aren’t what they seem.   Trouble is I’ve thrown the labels away so I’ve no way of knowing whether these leafy lovelies will still be around next year or not.

Leave a comment